Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://blazerforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/)
-   -   "Jerking" over 50mph (https://blazerforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/%22jerking%22-over-50mph-5189/)

mr_seanathan 08-28-2006 02:45 PM

"Jerking" over 50mph

First true post here, awesome that there's a great forum for Blazers.

A couple of months ago I started experiencing issues with starting up my '01 LS 4x4. It might struggle for a couple of turns then eventually would start up sounding like a lawn mower. Took it in to the shop and they said that my catalytic converter was clogged but to take it to a Chevy dealership since it was covered by the 8y/80k mile Federal Emissions warranty. Took it to the local Chevy dealer and they informed me that it wasn't the converter but the fuel pump and promptly charged me $700 to replace (I'm not a mechanic by ANY means). So that's replaced and it starts doing the same thing a month later. Take it in to have the converter replaced since they ordered it anyway. They tell me they can't replace the converter since who ever installed the muffler (Flowmaster) welded the muffler pipe to the flange. If they replaced the converter they wouldn't get their money back since it would be butchered from cutting through the pipes. They suggest that I take it to the muffler shop that installed my Flowmaster. Did so and after two weeks of my muffler guy and the Chevy place going at it, my muffler guy generously ate the cost and replaced my converter. While he did this, he showed me the converter that was crystal clear, no clogs, no bent threading of the screen, see perfectly well through the other side. I'm thinking that I may have a computer issue since my truck has started to jerk again while I'm going at a constant speed. It feels as though my truck does not want to stay at an even idle while I'm at a steady 50-65 mph on the highway. I'm not getting a ch