Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   General Tech Help (https://blazerforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/)
-   -   transmission slipping (https://blazerforum.com/forum/general-tech-help-7/transmission-slipping-6305/)

timetoblaze 10-29-2006 08:35 PM

transmission slipping

whats up everyone. well i think my tranny is on it way to ****tin the bed. it is slipping very bad through the gears and i have been getting a check engine light for a trans comp slipping so i guess my question is what do i do now... should i have it rebuilt should i buy a used one with low milage on it what would be cheaper... less hasstle and easiest to get done... keep in mind im a college student and have absolutely no money... thanks

USMaverick101 10-29-2006 08:55 PM

RE: transmission slipping

What year? is it 4x4? Engine size?

timetoblaze 10-29-2006 09:13 PM

o sorry didnt think about that.... 99' 4x4 4.3l

Hanr3 10-29-2006 10:42 PM

Junk yard swap will be the least expensive route. Find one, and get a 30 warrenty on it. Stop by the autoparts store for new tranny fluid, new dipstick tube gasket, new front seal, new rear seal, and buy a can of tranny shock. Use that instead of one can of tranny fluid. IF you do the work yourself, plan on a couple of weekends to complete it. Plus post up and I can offer up some tips to make life easier.

Dealer will have great replacements with the best warrenty. Iam hearing conflicting reports, 50,000 miles and 100,000 miles.

You could rebuild it yourself, however that pegs the difficulty meter as far as auto repairs go.

timetoblaze 10-30-2006 12:57 AM

will that last me a decent amount of time if i get a used tranny... thats the only thing im worried about.. that and i dont have nearly enough time, know how and tools to do the swap myself... it seems like it would be eatremely difficult to do it with floor jacks and crawling under the truck..