Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

is there better battery??

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2013, 06:01 PM
Beginning Member
shadow03 is on a distinguished road
Default is there better battery??

I have a 2003 Chevy blazer and I have a lot of auxiliary lighting hooked up to my battery
I am a firefighter so I have a lot of blue lights and I also have off roading lights and back up lights and I also want to put a winch on the front I was wondering if anyone has a better battery I can get that has more power to it or is there a way I can hook up a second one?
The battery I have is just one the dealer gave me I don't know the specific of cold cranking amps or storing amps of it

Old 02-05-2013, 06:50 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

optima, kinetic.
You can also run some 4 gauge power wires to the back of your truck and build a battery box and put a second battery back there.
also, I would recommend doing the big 3 upgrade (upgrading power wire from alt to battery, and the alt ground, and battery ground to a larger gauge wire (4 gauge or larger)

Old 02-05-2013, 07:36 PM
rexazz2 will become famous soon enough

all of the above and stop by a place like Napa may be able to source a higher output option alternator that will still bolt on and a battery isolator for the second battery

Old 02-05-2013, 07:40 PM
rexazz2 will become famous soon enough

BTW
A battery rep told me a few years back that the police change the battery in the cars after about 6 months because of the heavy electrical demand on their system

Old 02-05-2013, 07:47 PM
Beginning Member

Would the second battery put a huge strain on my alternator? I just had it replaced the other day because the bearing went in it and it was making a lot of noise

Old 02-05-2013, 07:54 PM