Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos (https://blazerforum.com/forum/nitrous-super-chargers-turbos-11/)
-   -   im a turbo noob..help please. (https://blazerforum.com/forum/nitrous-super-chargers-turbos-11/im-turbo-noob-help-please-30727/)

02Blazer-X 05-19-2009 06:30 PM

im a turbo noob..help please.

hey all, i run a 2002 blazer xtreme w/ the 4.3 EFI vortec. im interested in adding some boost but im not gonna lie, i dont have an in depth knowledge of this engine or how to mount a turbo.

im interested in a rear mount style like the sts turbo kit. would buying their universal kit work well? also, i know il need BOV's, but in terms of the fuel system/intake, what will i need? ive heard the marine intake is the way to go, but unless somebody can give me a good step by step on installing that, idk if i wanna do that.

if somebody can provide a list of things i need to buy/install to have a decent setup, id be very grateful as i have been getting many contradicting statements and ideas by reading what i have searched.

-Kevin.

TheBrettster 05-19-2009 06:47 PM

Ugh, if your going to do it just buy a v8, i went down this route and it was a huge waste of money. Theres a only one person i know of who was successful and he now has a blown engine.

02Blazer-X 05-19-2009 07:12 PM

a v8 swap is not gonna happen on this car. im not looking to dominate the drag circuit lol just lookin to make a bit more power. this is my only form of transportation so a full engine swap would leave me wheel-less for a while.
i know somebody here has done a remote mount on their v6 which has turned out well, i was aiming for something similar to his, but using the sts kit instead of a custom fab

TheBrettster 05-19-2009 07:35 PM

yes that is 02vortech and his engine is blown.