Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Off Roading (https://blazerforum.com/forum/off-roading-25/)
-   -   All the essentials (https://blazerforum.com/forum/off-roading-25/all-essentials-98542/)

Hunterturner6 01-06-2019 07:22 PM

All the essentials

So, basically I’m new to the whole off-roading thing and want to know what are the absolute essentials other than the obvious like a winch or tires. I have a 93’ S10 that is lifted a few inches with no actual off-roading parts. Anything helps and if you have any questions go ahead and ask

cleburne red 01-06-2019 07:51 PM

Best thing to have is another vehicle to drive to work on Monday morning, after you break your truck off roading on the weekend.

Aside from that, a decent tow strap, and a couple shackles is important, and having good recovery points front and rear on your truck.

Having a couple buddies to wheel with makes for a much more stree free time, as well

christine_208 01-07-2019 12:17 AM

I am no off-roader but I do take my rig to the woods for hunting in North Idaho. Generally I can expect snow when I hunt and this is what I carry for getting un-stuck:
  • 2 tow straps
  • snow shovel
  • hand-operated come-long and an electric portable winch (mostly for pulling elk out of ditches if I am so lucky!)
  • traction tracks (4) to put under the tires if I get stuck in the snow
  • 2 pairs of tire chains
  • hatchet and saw
These are the things I'm considering adding:
  • an elastic recovery strap (need another rig to use) with dampener
  • tree protector strap
  • a proper, approx. 9,000 lb, winch mounted on a portable cradle that can be mounted to the front or rear receiver (with appropriate upgrade to my electrical system)
  • chain-saw
When I go out, someone always knows where I am going. I also have food, water, sleeping bag, cook stove, first aid kit, tools, extra oil, and a hand-held ham radio.