Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Off Roading (https://blazerforum.com/forum/off-roading-25/)
-   -   buying a blazer for off roading need advice (https://blazerforum.com/forum/off-roading-25/buying-blazer-off-roading-need-advice-29064/)

huntsman 03-25-2009 11:55 PM

buying a blazer for off roading need advice

So i found this 95 4 door chevy blazer 4x4 with 95000 miles on it for $2600 but the price can be negotiated. Its gonna be a daily driver but also an off road machine. If i were to buy it i would lift it 2 or 4 in put bigger tires on and lock diffs. Now is this blazer any good for some light off roading and mudding since im just starting out. Also how much do the parts run for the blazer are they expenisve and is there alot to choose from? And is that a good deal on that blazer for 2600 it says it only has some light scratches that doesnt bother me. But what do you guys think. Also how easy are they to work on? Could i learn on it and do the stuff by myself or would i need a pro to put the lift and all that stuff?

thank you all very much

swartlkk 03-26-2009 02:04 PM

Repair parts are relatively cheap considering. Lifts can be cheap (up to 2" Suspension or 3" Body), but over that and you are looking at $$$.

The problem you will run into is that the front suspension will only allow up to a 2" suspension lift before you will start eating ball joints and CV shafts due to the angles.

To get over 2" suspension lift and keep the IFS (independent front suspension), you are looking at over a grand for the drop brackets of a 6" suspension lift. But you could always do a SFA (solid front axle) conversion and if you are good at finding parts, it should be cheaper and stronger than a 6" IFS lift.

huntsman 03-26-2009 04:08 PM

So then would it be a better idea to get a jeep cherokee? are the parts for it cheap and is it just overall easier to do stuff with it?

swartlkk 03-26-2009 05:01 PM