Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain (https://blazerforum.com/forum/steering-suspension-drivetrain-36/)
-   -   71’ K5 Blazer Suspension Upgrade (where to start) (https://blazerforum.com/forum/steering-suspension-drivetrain-36/71%92-k5-blazer-suspension-upgrade-where-start-98420/)

Steve Mabee 12-22-2018 01:32 PM

71’ K5 Blazer Suspension Upgrade (where to start)

My 71’ Blazer has a largely original suspension still. I’m a novice and will be hiring out this upgrade but I don’t know where to to start and don’t want to just take a mechanics word for the right path.

I’d love to get a brief education on what makes a blazer suspension system and what changes/upgrades I should consider.

If i remember correctly the system is made up with of springs and shocks and a stabilizer bar. Is there more to it? Should I consider coil-over springs ? I barely even know what that is let alone why that would be better so I could use a little help. :-)

What about steering stabilization? Although the vehicle isn’t squirly or overly loose I would love a slightly tighter setup.

swartlkk 12-22-2018 01:54 PM

Changes/upgrades really depend on what your intended purpose is for the truck. If it is mostly going to see pavement with an occasional trail, then staying stock is likely going to be the best. If you're intending on rock bouncing the thing, then that changes the nature of the answer completely.

The next point of clarification is whether you are looking for help in what to replace, regardless of its age or level of wear (basic rebuild of suspension/steering components) or if you only intend on replacing those parts that are exhibiting out of tolerance performance.