Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Bad ABS Sensor

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2011, 01:36 PM
Beginning Member
Sean89us is on a distinguished road
Default Bad ABS Sensor

Hey all, recently my ABS light has been coming on and turning itself back off on its own. the other day the ABS kicked in while I was braking so I brought it to goodyear today so they could read the codes. They told me the right front sensor was shot and that the best way to replace it is by replacing the whole hub assembly. What I'm wondering is, what would be the harm in just unplugging the sensor? I don't live in an area that has snow/ice and I've never once hydroplaned on water, I'm a great driver so I'm not worried about not having ABS active. Would there be any harm in just unplugging it until I feel like actually replacing the hub?

Thanks guys!
~Sean

Old 08-27-2011, 01:47 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

A lot of people disconnect the abs fuse

My truck being a 1st gen didnt have a fuse so someone told me to disconnect some wire in the engine compartment and it worked no light no abs the truck stops great and runs great

Old 08-27-2011, 02:15 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

First off, what are ya drivin'?