Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Leveling ZR2 suspension?

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2017, 11:40 PM
Beginning Member
Blazer_YYC is on a distinguished road
Default Leveling ZR2 suspension?

Hey guys, I have a 2005 ZR2 and I am trying to get the vehicle to sit level. Right now my measurements from ground to the bottom of the fender flare are 36" in the front and 34" in the rear. I have tried adjusting the torsion bars but after backing the bolts completely off it has not moved. I am thinking since it has 200,000KM (125,000 miles) on it that maybe it is time for new struts. Do you guys think new struts would bring the back end back up? Should I replace the leaf springs as well? I'm new to the 4x4 and I'm not sure when leaf springs need replacing.

Thanks

Alex

Old 12-12-2017, 05:39 AM
chevyriders is on a distinguished road

New shocks won't lift the back of the truck(save for air shocks). Your leaf springs are probably sagging. Replacing them would be your fix. With 125k miles replacing shocks would probably be in order too.

Springs support your weight, shocks dampen the rebound from the action of the spring.

S series trucks don't have struts

Old 12-12-2017, 06:16 PM
BF Veteran
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough

Or get some 2 inch longer shackles.

Old 12-12-2017, 09:01 PM
Strangerock is on a distinguished road

I just might have the shackles you need , I just have to come up with a price , they are 2 and 3 inch lift shackles brand new ....and I'm in Calgary ...which I believe you are also....You would have to pick up bolts as they did not come with.

Old 12-13-2017, 02:59 AM
BF Veteran
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough

Or an add a leaf will put a bit of life back in the leafs and give you lift also

Old 12-14-2017, 08:56 AM
BF Veteran