Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Lockers???

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2013, 07:04 PM
Starting Member
matt9589 is on a distinguished road
Question Lockers???

Im not to familier with what exactly a locker is but i have an idea...It improves traction corect? Sorry if this is dumb but im no mechanic but am handy with tools! Anyway, I was thinking I could use a new locker. What should I be looking for? How is installation?? is it worth the price??? someone please shed some light on this for me

Old 01-31-2013, 07:22 PM
BF Veteran
newguy will become famous soon enoughnewguy will become famous soon enough
Old 01-31-2013, 07:24 PM
Starting Member

Thanks! now I know!

Old 02-02-2013, 12:15 AM
Beginning Member
Michaelwiseguy is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by matt9589
Thanks! now I know!
I like funny guys too, but I didn't know either, even though I'm a machinist of 30 years and been doing general work on my own vehicles my whole life.

When I don't know an answer to a question, I usually find the answer one way or another.

I think my rear differential on the 2001 has an "Ox Locker" on it, but I'm not sure. I'm still trying to figure out why they call it an "Ox" Locker though.

Cable operated mechanism as is employed on the "Ox Locker."

Locking Differential
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Locking_differential

Old 02-02-2013, 12:45 AM
Twip will become famous soon enough

^NICE!!!!

anyway matt, i havent been on this forum for all that long, but last time we got to talking about lockers it started a HUGE war.
so to answer your question in a way that i think that everyone can agree with. some of these blazers come with a gov-lock. the RPO code is G80. and some of them come with an open diff. heres the break down that makes the most sense to me.