Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums

Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums (https://blazerforum.com/forum/)
-   Suspension Tech (https://blazerforum.com/forum/suspension-tech-12/)
-   -   99' Jimmy sas,... one tons from a 2000+ fullsize (https://blazerforum.com/forum/suspension-tech-12/99-jimmy-sas-one-tons-2000-fullsize-40588/)

Cuddie 02-09-2010 09:22 PM

99' Jimmy sas,... one tons from a 2000+ fullsize

Anyone swapped in one tons from a newer chev, with abs, auto locking hubs etc.? It would be nice to keep my push button 4x4, abs etc. I have to admit, it's nice to not have to get out. Has anyone out there seen it or done it? I've seen sas' but they all used older axles. My truck is very clean, i wheel it but take care of it, i would like to keep everything working as it was intended.
P.s. I'm a heavy duty mechanic so fabrication is not an issue.

old skool luvr 02-09-2010 11:57 PM

this sounds like the start of a build thread titled, "how to make a modern day S5" kinda a take on a K5/"S" series hybrid.

and leave it to a fellow Canadian to start on this adventure. :icon_wink:

notice you're really new here (like 2 posts new), so let me be the first to say, "welcome to the show".

AJBert 02-10-2010 12:47 AM

The front end on the newer GM's (from the '90s to present) is IFS and will require MAJOR fabrication to get it to fit, plus you need to look at the width of the axles compared to what you currently have. Dodge and Ford both have solid axles in the 3/4 and one ton trucks. Much easier to put in a solid axle than swap to a heavier IFS axle. It can be done but not worth the effort, IMHO.

Cuddie 02-11-2010 08:34 PM