2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2002 Chevy s10 Blazer P0300 - Stumped.

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 07:29 PM
AfterBurn99 is on a distinguished road
Default 2002 Chevy s10 Blazer P0300 - Stumped.

Hello All,

I've got a 2002 Chevy Blazer 4.3 W motor. First let me start off by saying a few things; I Have read all of the P0300 posts/forums, some of the stuff I already tried already, and the other diag steps I did try. Also, I was a GM tech for a number of years in this time period, so I am fairly familiar with these nightmares. However, I had access to the Tech II back then, don't now. All I Have now is a basic code puller, and limited access to a live data scanner.

Symptoms: Very rough idle, flashing check engine light, serious shake and hesitation off the line. P0300, nothing else. Smooths out under higher rpm's, and while driving. Coming to a stop, she feels like she is going to die. Engine Oil Pressure drops to 20 under this rough idle condition while hot. Cold oil pressure at 40+

That being said, This thing is throwing the dreaded P0300 nightmare. I Have run through the following;

Plugs, wires, cap rotor. Inspected old plugs, nothing worth mentioning. NO arcing on the cap/rotor, and cleared the vent tube.

Checked for vacuum leaks with carb cleaner, visual inspections, and nothing found.

Did a fuel pressure check 58-60 KOEO. Leak down test fails and drops to around 30 after 10 minutes. Running it was around 60. Tested at the rail, suspected FPR, changed, new plenum gasket, TB gasket, etc. FP gauge I rented is broken now, so waiting on another one to re-test.

Changed fuel filter, it was dirty and clogged.

Had limited access to a friends el-cheapo live data scanner. Looked at the LTFT and STFT - results;

Everything else was +/- 9% except Bank 2 I believe on STFT which was about -25-29% in closed loop.

ECT read: 196F when it was warmed up.

02 Sensors: