2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

towing with a 95 blazer

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 03:10 AM
Lil Elan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default towing with a 95 blazer

hey guys,

Im very new to the blazers and recently purchased a 95 blazer LT 4dr and 2wd with 120k miles on it. My question is, would I be able to tow my 2100 pound race car on a open trailer with my blazer? All together the race car and trailer would weigh less than 4000lbs or 4000lbs at the max. Also what would you guys recomend doing/buying for my blazer to insure that it tows with success?

There is a trailer hitch on the blazer that states "Max trailer weight of 6000lbs and max tongue weight of 750lbs"

Last question and forgive for my lack of knowlegde regarding blazers (this is my first one and enjoy it so far) but what would be the towing capcity of a 1995 blazer LT.

Thanks in advance,
Andrew

Old 11-21-2006, 03:11 AM
Default RE: towing with a 95 blazer

oh yeah, it has the 4.3liter vortech engine, if that makes a difference

Old 11-21-2006, 03:36 AM
BF Veteran
Chevy Lover has a spectacular aura aboutChevy Lover has a spectacular aura aboutChevy Lover has a spectacular aura about

Maybe someone on here knows for sure but my understanding is that whatever you tow should not be more than 3/4 the weight of the truck, so your load sounds a little heavy to me.

Old 11-21-2006, 05:07 AM
20Blazer00 is an unknown quantity at this point

This is what I found in the owners manual for my 2000 Blazer with the 4.3L Auto. I believe that it is the same for your '97. You can access this information for your specific year by registering on the MyGMlink site, it is free.

Weight of the Trailer
How heavy can a trailer safely be?
It depends on how you plan to use your rig.
For example, speed, altitude, road grades, outside
temperature and how much your vehicle is used to pull a