Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Time to get over my head!

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2010, 08:09 PM
BlazerGuy2001 is on a distinguished road
Default Time to get over my head!

Alright everyone, its time to start the research for next summers project. I am planning on doing the usual engine swap and putting the 5.3L Vortec V8 in my blazer. I have a 2001 ZR2 and am 16, so ill be saving up until the summer comes for this project. So heres my questions...and please keep in mind i am searching these forums every day looking for answers i just like confirming everything before i do it.

1. There are like twenty different types of this engine which one do i want? why?
2. As far as i can tell it will fit into the engine compartment but what type of engine mounts will i need? and how are they attached?
3. I am just getting into the whole engine department and need to know what all the components are that bolts on? where can i read up on this?

I will add more questions as i think of them please help me out =) thanks

Old 01-01-2010, 09:22 PM
cbr995 will become famous soon enoughcbr995 will become famous soon enough

From what I have read, You will need new engine mounts, modify the radiator support, and a new computer. Some other things, too.
I want to put an LS1 in my truck, so I've been doing some research, although I haven't in a while since I lost my job.

Old 01-01-2010, 09:42 PM

Yea, im still in high school so it makes money like impossibly tight but i think i should be able to find a way to get one. What kind of GM V8's would fit into this blazer without any mods besides mounts and radiator?

Old 01-01-2010, 10:17 PM
cbr995 will become famous soon enoughcbr995 will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by BlazerGuy2001
Yea, im still in high school so it makes money like impossibly tight.
Don't worry, I know how you feel. Luckily I only have until May.

Old 01-01-2010, 10:36 PM