Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Question about a pressure control solenoid for 4L60E

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2011, 07:27 PM
tfcman is on a distinguished road
Default Question about a pressure control solenoid for 4L60E

Hey guys,
Just removed a pressure control solenoid from a 4L60E and I have a question. I was told by a person at O Reilly that you can increase the line pressure by turning the torx screw by 3/4 turn and it will help with shifting gears as I have removed the shift solenoids and they checked out at 22.5 ohms as did the TCC and PWM. No broken connections on the harness and the torx screw does not want to move freely. Is it maybe bad or should I try to force it to move? He told me that he talked to someone and it fixed his shifting problem. Does this sound normal? I wanted to get advice from the experts on here as I am a newbie when it comes to transmissions. Also since I am a newbie on the forum, should I go back to my original thread to edit and update or start a new one. I don't want to violate rules and such. Any help is much appreciated.

Old 09-11-2011, 08:56 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

The PCS is calibrated to ensure that a particular input will yield a corresponding output. The pressure is altered by the PCM and shift adapts are learned. By altering the calibrated setting of the PCS, you could just mask problems or create others. There is a reason why you don't find much (if any) information about doing such a thing.