Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

A few suspension questions for my 2000 GMC Jimmy.

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2013, 04:40 PM
mccoycm84 is on a distinguished road
Default A few suspension questions for my 2000 GMC Jimmy.

Hey everyone!

I just recently purchased a 2000 GMC Jimmy Envoy edition with 163,000 miles on it as my weekend/fun vehicle. I have a few questions about the suspension. I try to do all work myself if I am able, but I've never worked on suspensions before...

1. I have bouncing/hopping problem in the front end over dips in the road at highway speeds. It causes a little white-knuckle driving at times. The front shocks look a little rusted just above the lower mount. I just looked at the owner's manual, and to my surprise someone actually filled out their maintenance record! It says new shocks on all wheels done in January 2007 at 116,355 which puts almost 50,000 miles on these shocks. Would replacing the front shocks likely clear up this issue?

2. I know the Envoy editions have a rear air suspension, but it appears that my Envoy may have been converted to normal shocks (I never hear the compressor, even when I first start the vehicle). It currently has Bilstein shocks in the rear that look relatively new and they appear to not be air shocks. If I replace the front shocks, should I go ahead and replace all 4 shocks?

Thanks!!

Last edited by mccoycm84; 04-27-2013 at 09:19 PM. Reason: Found new information about vehicle.
Old 04-28-2013, 08:29 AM
BF Veteran
cleburne red will become famous soon enough

The bouncing in the front is likely due to worn out shocks. The car is supposed to bounce once and rebound back to normal after a bump. My cobalt was doing the same thing, I would hit a bump, and by the next off ramp, it might have stopped bouncing! New struts fixed all that (reused the springs, just replaced the "shock" part of the strut.