1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Electrical Nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2010, 08:46 AM
xlt360 is on a distinguished road
Default Electrical Nightmare

Hi, my name is Michael and I live in Sacramento, CA.
I picked up a 91 S10 Blazer 4.3L TBI, 4x4
to go play in. It was totally neglected and I knew I had a ton of work to do. I replaced the whole front suspender, and I'd bet my last pay check the shocks we the original from 91, same with the tune up. I've never seen spark plugs that bad, but man that blazer ran like champ.
I'm no mechanic, but I'm not afraid to jump in and figure it out as I go along. When it came time to do the electrical work I noticed my head light switch was bad, a family member suggested a friend of her's that was going to school for this stuff he suggested a toggle switch. So I got the book Haynes book and looked up the wiring for the headlights.
There are 4 wires running to that switch, (Red) the battery, (Yellow) that looks like it goes from the headlight switch to the dimmer switch, (Brown) for the turn and side marker lights, and (orange) for the cab lighting.
He came to the conclusion that (Red) would be the (Power), tie (Yellow and Brown) together for all the exterior lights as the (Acc) and the ground it. BAD IDEA!!! All three of those wires are hot
I never saw a ground wire light off like that, it looked like the fuse off a stick of dynamite. It ran through the whole system, cooked all my wiring.
I picked up an electrical book and I figured out the headlight/dimmer switch, but I have a mess on my hands. The book isn't very help on the wiring to and from the (PCM)
I'm having some trouble figuring out the pin lay out.
I would love to start putting this back together.

Thanks,
Michael.

Attached Thumbnails Electrical Nightmare-not_good.jpg  
Old 04-30-2010, 08:50 AM
Administrator