1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

88 4.3 blazer not firing

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2009 | 03:47 PM
|
Beginning Member
Tooth_pic is on a distinguished road
Default 88 4.3 blazer not firing

Ok so im like one day old on this site.. I found a few threads that helped me rule out some stuff, but now im in an area ware i need help.
So i have an 88 4.3L blazer. It was given to me for free from a good friend of mine like 5 months ago. I changed the oil and drove it from Seattle Wa. to the east coast and back. 8000 and somthing miles, ran like a top. I got home and after about 2 weeks, i was driving down the road, started sputtering, backfired a few times(no throttle response) and died. got it to my house and so far i have verified that it has fuel making it to the throttle body, and has spark, but will not fire at all. i think its the injectors but idk.. any help would be great. Im not a complete novice but this will be a bit of a project for me

thanks a bunch,
Elijah

Old 10-28-2009 | 05:43 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

Test the fuel pressure. It needs to be 8-10psi for the injectors to properly feed the engine.

Does it run with starter fluid?

Old 10-30-2009 | 01:57 AM
|
Beginning Member

ok so i had a friend of mine com over today. we worked on it in the rain for a few hours and found that the distributor was corroded to ****.. sanded on it a bunch and got it to fire a few times. will have the rest of the parts in the morning and then see what happens