1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Help with 86 s10 blazer 2.8

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2010, 06:52 PM
lakekeyman is on a distinguished road
Default Help with 86 s10 blazer 2.8

Hello All I own a 86 S10 and had to pull distributor to replace pick up.Now Im having trouble with timing. I have pulled the distributor so many times now .I noticed that there are two different makes on flywheel.I believe its the wider mark with white.Whats the other mark for?
I bring it up tdc and line dist. to Number 1 is there a reset i have to do?
I also noticed a sensor on pass side of motor just behind exaust man. The wire has broke off .Would this be a knock sensor?
Please bear with me newbie here ,locksmith by trade part time mechanic not by choice but neccessity
Thanks chuck

Old 06-27-2010, 09:09 PM
ohsofly will become famous soon enoughohsofly will become famous soon enough

Is it sparking at least, just not at the right time. And is it at TDC on the compression stroke? You can stick your finger on the spark plug hole and feel for it to be on the compression stroke.

Old 06-28-2010, 08:25 AM
lakekeyman is on a distinguished road
Default 86 s10

Yes i do have spark,and i am bringing it up to tdc ,Am i correct to think if im on mark on flywheel and piston is up on number one all i need to do is drop dist. in lined up with number one.i can get to run by wont idle .Thanks chuck

Old 06-28-2010, 11:47 AM
ohsofly will become famous soon enoughohsofly will become famous soon enough

Yeah thats how you line the base timing up. You should also use a timing light to fine tune. You fine tune the timing by rotating the distributor while its running. You will also have to have all your vacuum lines hooked up to have it idle properly. Is your dist a vacumm advance???

Old 04-19-2011, 03:33 AM
Starting Member
crazy_driver_78 is on a distinguished road