1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Throttle body removal ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 06:08 PM
JerryB52 is on a distinguished road
Default Throttle body removal ?

Okay, to get at the EGR valve I have to remove the throttle body.
How hard is this to do and are there any tutorials or picture to help me out?

I am a novice at auto mechanics. An electrician by trade.
I can probably figure it out but if there's any thing I need to know, please help me out...

Thank you.

Old 03-24-2011, 07:17 PM
Leeann_Bravada is an unknown quantity at this point

What vehicle are we talking about?
On my '93 W code, I didn't have to remove the throttle body. I did need at least a 9" extension for the driver's side bolt and a 10mm ratcheting wrench for the passenger side bolt, however.

Old 03-24-2011, 09:21 PM
Beginning Member
rob180 is on a distinguished road

Depends on what year? I took the whole intake plenum off my 94 to get at it. I read your post and thought what the hell. Went back out and with a 3/4 swivle and a long extension with a 10mm socket. took both bolts out and pulled it out through the front over the thermostat housing. re-install was the same.

Old 03-24-2011, 11:44 PM
neo71665 will become famous soon enoughneo71665 will become famous soon enough

The info on what you own listed in a sig line helps, if what you are working n is different from what you own listing it also goes a long way.

Guessing you are not talking about anything TBI cause I've never had to remove the TB on them no matter the engine size.

Old 03-25-2011, 05:18 AM
Red face

I tried every-which-way to get the EGR out from under the TB but I think I'll just have to remove the TB.
I'll clean it too while I have it out.
I was just wondering how hard it is to get out the TB and are there any things I need to look out for.

Want to do this tomorrow (Sat. 3/26). Not working...

Thanks for the help...