2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2000 S-10 Alternator replacement woes

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2012, 08:21 PM
Beginning Member
JWhis is on a distinguished road
Default 2000 S-10 Alternator replacement woes

I've searched the forums and found a few helpful bits, but nothing specific. I replaced my alternator today, but was unable to reconnect the neg battery cable due to sparking. I didn't mess with anything apart from taking the cooling stuff off to get access to the alt, removing the belt, and the 2 bolts holding the alt in, as well as the + lead on the alt post and the clip-in wire on the bottom. Why would it suddenly decide to spark when reconnecting the wires with the new unit? Was there a second wire to attach to the post on the alt other than the red lead that I might have missed while reaching around etc? I'm fairly new to car work, with zero understanding of the electrical system. My experience is limited to brake pads, basic stuff, I did a fuel pump a while back. This is a 2000 S-10 pickup. Any help would be appreciated. I couldn't find any obvious shorts anywhere, and the wires looked ok. When I started putting the battery cables in, the battery began to smoke, and I quickly disconnected everything. Hopefully I didn't kill the battery, since it is only 3 months old.

Old 08-08-2012, 09:10 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

Remove the red wire from the rear of the alternator, make sure it does not touch ground.
Connect the negative battery cable to the battery, there should be a slight spark to "wake up" memories in the onboard computers, (NOT a violent spark with a "snap" sound). Now, with a quick motion, touch & release the red wire to the post on the rear of the alternator. There should be no spark at all. If there is a spark, the alternator is bad.