2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

p0300 and p1380 random misfire need help!

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2012, 08:47 PM
shanegreen is on a distinguished road
Default p0300 and p1380 random misfire need help!

im new to this site but use it often for references for my girlfriends blazer, and now im stuck

the code p0300 came one, and on my code reader i read advanced dtc and p1380 was also there, which is random misfire of course

everything is new, im a mechanic so i fix everything on it, new plugs, wires, cap rotor, fuel filter and pcv valve. we drove cross country, and when we got to where we were going the p0300 came on so i changed the dist cap and rotor again, seeing that seemed most likely to cause it, it went off and was good for a while, but i just did the intake gaskets on it and the two codes came on. same symptons as before, hesitant shifting, feels very heavy going between 55-75. Doesnt seem to be misfiring though at all, just when shifting to 2nd and she says it feels really boggy or hesitant on the highway.

i recently did the intake gaskets on it and had the battery unplugged for hours not sure if it reset anything it shouldnt have, but after i did them it seemed like the problem with the misfire was worse than before, but the light came on about 3 days later and turned off after she refueled, but another day passed and it turned on on the highway and was blinking than stopped, which i know means catalyst damaging.