2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Symptoms and P0300

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2009, 12:39 PM
Starting Member
DrEaMsTeVe is on a distinguished road
Smile Symptoms and P0300 (FIXED!)

I am currently studying up on the depressive nature of this code and wanted to run the symptoms by you guys to maybe get a direction to focus on.

The issue has started about a month ago, the blazer would buck a bit as it was accelerating past 1st gear and less so past 2nd gear.

This would generally go away after about 4 or 5 stop lights thorugh town on my way to work. Symptom would be gone completely when I get to work. It takes me 10 to 15 minutes to get to work.

I had the codes pulled and I have the P0300 and the code for the fuel level sensor going bad. My light did not turn on through the dash to indicate the code.

I bought the blazer earlier in the year and have since fixed or rather addressed the various issues that it has had. List follows:

1. Replaced distributor cap & Rotors
2. Wires replaced
3. Shocks replaced (monroe Sensa-Trac)

I have cleaned the throttle body as best I could without removing it as I have yet to find the time to go that far. I have also tried to clean the EGR but plan on doing a more thorough job after I replace the spark plugs after work.

My plan is to check the distributor cap and rotor for any abnormalities while changing the spark plugs. After all that and when it gets dark, I'm gonna spray some water on the wires to check and make sure they are still good.

What would you guys say would be my next step shoudl everything checks out with the ignitions issues? Should I get the ignition control module and coil tested as well? I'm currently running a fuel system cleaner through it right now to rule out the easy stuff.

Let me know...I will continue to read up on the random misfire code.

Thanks