2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

"04 Blazer...2Hi/4Lo works, 4Hi won't engage

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2014, 04:15 PM
Monkeyman is on a distinguished road
Default "04 Blazer...2Hi/4Lo works, 4Hi won't engage

Just as the title says, 2Hi works fine and I can easily get into (and out of) 4Lo. When I hit the 4Hi button, the switch lights flash but it won't shift into 4Hi and reverts to whatever it's in (2Hi or 4Lo). Tried shifting to 4Lo first but still no go. Dash switch was replaced about 3 years ago and I probably haven't been in 4wd (either Hi or Lo) a 1/2 dozen times since. Since I can get 4Lo, I'm thinking the encoder motor is probably good but I'm not a mechanic by any means.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Not sure it's worth my money to take it to a shop for a high dollar fix as I'm rarely in 4wd. With the upcoming foot of snow we're supposed to get, I'd like 4Hi for obvious reasons.

Thanks to all!

Old 01-05-2014, 01:45 PM
Beginning Member
lmihalko is on a distinguished road

I had this exact behavior in a 95 Blazer last year. It was the encoder motor at fault. I replaced the encoder motor, reset the ECM and 4HI has worked for 2 years since. By ECM reset I mean disconnected the battery for 15 minutes and reconnected it.

Don't fret too much about the snow, 4LO and a decent set of AT tires got me through months of snow and mud.

Old 01-06-2014, 04:41 PM

Thanks. I'll wait til spring and have someone else replace the encoder motor. From what I've read/seen, sometimes you have to remove the front driveshaft. Too big a project for me. 4Lo seems to get me where I need to go but it would be nice to go faster than 20 mph in this kind of weather.

Old 01-06-2014, 04:59 PM
Beginning Member

I felt the same way about driving slow in 4lo when 4hi is desierable. Also felt the same way about removing that front drive shaft and maybe the yoke to install such a small part.