2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2001 Blazer SES Light

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2011, 12:13 PM
TheRider91 is on a distinguished road
Default 2001 Blazer SES Light

Hello,
I'm having a problem with my '01 Blazer and am wondering if anyone can help me out. If kept full the truck is fine, but any time the gas tank gets below half the SES light comes on and throws a P0440 code. If I fill it back up and erase the codes it's fine as long as it's kept above half. The only problem is it still won't pass inspection. My regular mechanic (pretty shady guy, but I won't get into that unless someone thinks it's a problem) keeps telling me to make sure the light stays off and to drive it 50 or 60 miles and bring it back. I've done this numerous times and he still just says it's throwing the same two codes, and that the only solution is to try driving it longer or replace the computer. I'm no professional so I'm a little lost as to what to do from here. The only clues I can provide is that none of this affects performance, it still runs great throughout, and that a used fuel pump was installed about 8 months ago after the original pump failed. So if anyone can help at all it will be greatly appreciated. It's getting a bit unnerving trying to dodge cops every day on my way back and forth to work. Oh, and yes I've checked the gas cap.

Last edited by TheRider91; 08-25-2011 at 12:24 PM. Reason: Cutting unnecessary content.
Old 08-25-2011, 02:00 PM
BF Veteran
pettyfog has a spectacular aura aboutpettyfog has a spectacular aura about

Okay.. we get the 0440. What's the other code? 0442?

And you've had this since the FP was replaced? Hmmmmmmm
- Replace the computer?!!!!! WTF! The computer doesnt measure anything other than primary voltage of charging system! it only reads external sensor outputs.

How about he just go through the {admittedly overdone} EVAP system and fix the freaking problem.