2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2002 Blazer will not start

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2015, 04:25 PM
Starting Member
alfista is on a distinguished road
Default 2002 Blazer will not start

I am new to the S10 blazer world (used to have a 1979 K5 Blazer) and I have done a lot of searching throughout the forum to find a solution. We had the front passenger tire blow out and then a week later the engine began to slug down and drag to a point it would start (in about a 20 mile drive). There was no warning lights coming on and no overheating indicated. Nothing was damaged under the Blazer that I can see, no fuses are blown, the oil is not milky, air bubbles to not come out of the radiator when trying to turn over. Before I start to actually tear into the engine I will perform a compression test. Is there anything else I should be looking at or checking? I am not as familiar with these engines. Thank you in advance.

Old 10-28-2015, 07:49 PM
Beginning Member
Soldat251 is an unknown quantity at this point

I was just troubleshooting my blazer for a no start problem so maybe I can help a bit based on what I encountered.

Firstly I am assuming the car is cranking but not turning over, not just clicking from a dead battery or giving you nothing from a dead starter.

It seems the two first things you want to check is for
A: Fuel failing to reach the engine
B: A bad component of your ignition system.

Fuel: An easy test to see that your fuel pump is working to to have somebody listen by the rear tires when you turn the key (not to crank, just to turn the lights on) and when you turn them back off. They should be able to hear very easily the motor in the fuel pump working. If you don't hear that your fuel pump is dead or your pump relay went bad.