2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Black exhaust smoke on acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2008, 01:45 PM
Beginning Member
maxxjett is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Black exhaust smoke on acceleration

Hello all...My 2001 Blazer seems to put out a lot of black smoke from the exhaust on acceleration. I have done all the tune up (plugs, wires, cap, rotor, fuel & air filter) plus changed IAC valve and front two o2 sensors (after getting SES codes). Engine has 150k miles and allthough I haven't done an actual compression check on it, it does seem to have good compression (sufficient power,easy start, & smooth idle). Could this be the back o2 semsor even with no further SES codes? I'm a long time mechanic and own my own automotive parts store but this one has me stumped. Obviously a rich condition but from where? Any suggestions?

Old 04-27-2008, 02:32 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Black exhaust smoke on acceleration

I wouldn't go throwing any more sensors at it. The upstream (furthest front) O2 sensors are the only ones that have anything to do with engine fuel management. The rearmost O2 sensor is only for catalyst monitoring.

Have you cleaned the EGR valve?

Old 04-28-2008, 03:10 PM
Beginning Member