2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Engine Part???

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2008, 07:37 PM
Beginning Member
el8232 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Engine Part???

I am new to Blazer ownership. I have a 2000 2dr 4x4 4.3 V6 130,000 miles. I have a random miss fire on cylinder three according to the computer. My mechanic told me i need to replace the fuel injector spider. Just what is this part?? It looks like a 6 legged spider.

Old 11-30-2008, 08:12 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Engine Part???

How did they come by that diagnosis? When was the last time there was a tune up done to the engine (plugs, wires, cap, and rotor)? Did they even bother trying to remove plug #3 (which can be somewhat problematic on some models)?

To answer your question, the "spider" is the fuel injection system internal to the engine. The SCFI motor used from 96 thru mid-02 has a central injector pack which houses the six individual electronic injectors. These injectors are then connected to nylon lines which direct fuel to pressure actuated poppet nozzles located in the intake runner just ahead of the intake valve.

The poppet nozzles can be somewhat problematic and an upgraded MFI spider used on the mid-02 to 05 s-series trucks is available. The newer MFI spider moves the electronic injectors out of the central housing to the end of the nylon lines, replacing the problematic poppet nozzles.