2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

I Pulled Them Top Plenum And Found This...

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2014, 02:24 PM
Scott23412 is on a distinguished road
Default I Pulled Them Top Plenum And Found This...

Hey all,

First post but this forum has been a HUGE help with my 95 Blazer over the last couple of years. It's a Vortec v6 "W" engine.

So a couple of weeks ago I started noticing a rough idle, hesitation on acceleration, showing signs of wanting to stall on acceleration and eventually misfiring and backfiring through the tailpipe.

This Blazer is well over 200k miles, and I don't have much money to put into it, but I need to do what I can to keep it driving.

I'm okay with tools but I'm not a mechanic - I've done some minor repairs on my cars over the years. Yesterday my check engine light (which has been on since I've owned it) started blinking. I quickly got it home, and opened it up. I checked the oil, reeked of gas.

I take it to the mechanic and pay them $50 to diagnose it. A new shop literally a block away, first time I'd been there. Anyway they call me and say it's the Spider and it'll be $1k to fix. I don't have $1k.

So today I decide to pull the upper plenum myself. The FPR side was gunked up. The Nutkit side was washed out - and 2 of the injector poppets where completely unattached, they had just been dumping fuel all over the place in there.

So here's my question - I really can't afford to by a new spider system. I mean, the 2 poppets completely detached were most likely the problem right? I'm not the smartest guy when it comes to cars - but I mean - right?

No signs of wash under the FPR side. I cleaned up the Plenum, plugged them back in and stuffed some rags around all the connections and then energized the fuel pump. No leaks anywhere.