2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Intake manifold gasket help

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2014, 03:31 PM
Starting Member
01xtreme_chevy is on a distinguished road
Default Intake manifold gasket help

Ok, I got my intake manifolds off both upper and lower. It's got the infamous anti-freeze leak. Just got it all off and I am replacing all top side gaskets except for the heads. I do have a repair book by Haynes and its giving two different torque specs.
One says 35- ft lbs for lower...10-ft lbs for upper. But on the other hand it gives me a three step torque sequence for inch pounds. I'm confused on which one to go with as this is my first time doing this by myself. Help would be appreciated.
And for the record I am switching out fuel injector assembly for the upgraded one while I already have it out.
It is a 2001 Xtreme Blazer

Old 01-21-2014, 02:43 PM
bleoh is on a distinguished road

I think the 35 ft lbs is for the 96 and older. Your 2001 should be the 3 step inch pounds spec. I think the last step is equal to about 11 ft lbs.

Old 01-21-2014, 02:46 PM
Starting Member
scottl1346 is on a distinguished road
Old 01-21-2014, 03:22 PM
Starting Member

Ok, thanks yall. The D-tips site was really helpful. The only thing that it doesn't show is how to remove the big wire harness from the fuse block on the driver side. All it says is to move it to the passenger side. Any tips on removing the harness?

Old 01-21-2014, 04:28 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

Don't disconnect the harness, not necessary, just move it aside.

Lose the Haynes manual.... worthless, unless you need help with an oil change

This is straight out of the GM "dealer issue" shop manual for 1996 and newer 4.3L with CSFI:

Name:  IntakeManifold001-Copy.jpg
Views: 134
Size:  58.9 KB