2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Oil pan weeping- am I overthinking it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2023 | 07:07 AM
|
Beginning Member
JasonL is on a distinguished road
Default Oil pan weeping- am I overthinking it?

Hello all.

I've got an 04 blazer, rwd 4dr, with 56k miles. My oil pan is a bit weepy in the front two corners. It's never actually dropped oil on the ground, but the front of the oil pan always glistens with oil. If I wipe down the pan, the oil spot travels down about 3 inches a day. The oil dipstick is still at the full line. I'm pretty sure it's done this since I got it, but not 100% sure.

To be honest, this is my first vehicle I've owned. I'm not very good at determining what requires immediate attention, and what is just a quirk of owning a 19 year vehicle.

So what do you all think? Just monitor and carry on? Or is it one of those things that should be looked at ASAP?

Old 11-30-2023 | 08:40 AM
Beginning Member
Sherman is on a distinguished road

Weepage is low on the list of things to fret over. Make sure the PCV valve is a factory A/C and that it works. Otherwise, happy motoring!

Old 11-30-2023 | 10:21 PM
NathanFord is on a distinguished road

Another common place these vehicles weep oil from is the remote oil cooler lines. Depending on where it's leaking from on those lines, that could be the cause.

My '02 did this when I first bought it, got the lines replaced (unfortunately the shop that replaced them used the Dorman brand lines and are out of warranty) so they have been leaking for the past 20,000 or so miles.