2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Rich condition and misfires

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2022, 01:41 PM
DannyTheVito is on a distinguished road
Default Rich condition and misfires

Hey all,
I have an 02 that started having a rich condition driving home from work the other day. Started misfiring with extreme loss of power. Codes are rich on both banks and P0300 random misfire. I'm still learning so feel free to poke holes in my troubleshooting. I'm here to learn.

Long Term Fuel Trims on both banks go to -10 on both banks at idle and go more negative as you give it throttle.
I checked the cap and rotor for damage or arching stains, but looks clean. They were just replaced with Delco brand about a year and a half ago.
The injectors were replaced March 2021 (about a year ago) with the AC Delco upgraded version. I did a leak down test and held 60psi for 10 minutes with no leak down.
Plugs and wires were replaced last year as well with Delco plugs and NGK wires.
O2 sensors are reporting normally, switching between high and low voltage.
I've swapped in a known good ignition coil with same results. I have not swapped in a known good ignition module yet, but this is my next step after it cools down this evening. I'm pulling these known good parts off of my other Blazer that is running perfectly.
CMP offset is ~4.
MAF and air temp sensors are reporting correctly. Same readings as the known good blazer.

Edit: Swapped in a known good control module and same results.

Seems to do it after it warms up for a few minutes. Trims will be OK, then starts shifting negative the longer it stays running, about 10 minutes and it's undrivable.

More Edit: I introduced a vacuum leak by taking the valve cover hose off the air intake and fuel trims evened out so I do believe it's dumping fuel and this isn't an ignition problem.
I speculate the FPR may have a small pin hole leak that only shows under vacuum.