2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

SERVICE ENGINE SOON same as Check Engine? '99

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2008, 03:59 PM
Tony H is an unknown quantity at this point
Default SERVICE ENGINE SOON same as Check Engine? '99

Ok, I'm new to these S10 Blazers. The last Blazer I worked on was a 1978 K5 with Manual..everything.

My daughters 'new to her' '99' was coming up on 100K miles and the SERVIVES ENGINE SOON light came on. She's home from college for the weekend and I thought I'd take a look. It's running fine, the AMM is clean and I cleaned it anyway, No foul ( bad Cat Converter) smell so I figured, let me just pull the Battery cable and reset it. Pulled the cable for about 3 minutes and reattached. Started the car and with zero hesitation the Service Engine Soon light was on.
I was thinking that maybe these S10's have a light for Tuneups AND Emission issues??? I think all the Tuneup parts are due to be changed at 100K miles so maybe that's what the light is for.
The bottom line is I cannot find a Reset button for this and pulling the Battery cable didn't help. So what am I missing?
Thanks

Old 12-13-2008, 05:16 PM
BF Guru
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: SERVICE ENGINE SOON same as Check Engine? '99