2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Updated! 99 s10 issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2008, 12:33 AM
GrumpyM4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Updated! 99 s10 issue

Hey all, noob here,

I have a '99 s10 blazer, 4 door, 4wd, LT package.

The other day, just as I was starting up a hill, the engine died.

Just under a quarter tank of gas left, all electrics were working.

Got it home and checked possible issues. Added more fuel to the tank in case my fuel guage wasn't reading properly. Now registers just over half a tank and the fuel guage has always been spot on for me.

Fuel pump sounds like it is working and makes the proper noise and I have spark on the spark plugs. Matter of fact, in testing for spark, my buddy got shocked even though he wasn't touching ANY metal when testing for spark. I was under the impression that the rubber around the spark plug wires would prevent this. It did not.

But, no matter what, it isn't starting. The starter works fine and it is turning over just fine, but it isn't catching. Not even a slight cough. The engine just turns and turns.

After running the battery down, I hooked up the jumper cables and tried everything again, but had a friend around back. He said he could smell a very slight scent of fuel as I was turning over the engine and pumping the gas. I was thinking that if I was pumping the gas pedal, there should have been a stronger gas smell. (I was only pumping the gas like that to see if I was getting gas through the system, not because I think that's how I should start the truck)

Is there a chance that the fuel filter is simply clogged, or could there be another explination? Is it possible for the fuel pump to make the right sound, but not be actually pumping fuel to the engine? Or could it be an issue with the fuel injection system. If so, how would I find that out?

Any help is MUCH appreciated!

Thanks!

Old 06-22-2008, 01:21 PM