Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

10 in Kenwood subs

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2013, 07:20 PM
Starting Member
01blazer16 is on a distinguished road
Default 10 in Kenwood subs

Im gonna get 2 kenwood subs and hook up my 600 watt amp for now do I need onee of those cylinder things?? And should I mount my amp on top of sub box and what settings do I set my amp to because I'm new at subs thanks!

Old 08-27-2013, 07:52 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

Dont get a capacitor (little cylinder things) they are completely useless. I have my amp screwed to the back of my rear seat, as for settings on your amp.. there is no specific settings that everyone uses.

Old 08-28-2013, 06:25 AM
altoncustomtech will become famous soon enough

^^^^^^^ He's right.

A capacitor would be a waste of your money. They have real world uses, but when it comes to what they're being used for in car audio it's not a practical use at all.

If there's no other choice, mounting the amp to the box works. There's less possibility of damage though if it's mounted to a good, secure location. The back of the seat works fine, a custom built amp rack is great too. Just Monday I helped a local kid fix his setup with an amp mounted to the box. The box slid around the back of his SUV and it jerked the ground out of the amp. When the ground came out it contacted a few strands of wire that were sticking out of the remote terminal AND it blew his 200A fuse under the hood. Needless to say the remote output of his HU was toasted and I had to rewire his remote to the switched 12v wire for the HU. Like I said, mounting the amp to the box can work but it definitely shouldn't be done if the box isn't mounted down, held still, or otherwise motionless.