Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Audio Noob

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2008, 09:08 PM
MVPalmer271 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Audio Noob

Sorry, I am new to the audio aspects of vehicles. I just have a few questions I couldn't clear up surching. Ok, I am wanting a better sounding audio system, not something that can make my ears bleed but, quality, a little more base, and some good volume without distortion. I have a 2000 4dr LT w/out bose and with a new Sony xplode head unit. I was thinking of possibly installing 6.5 inch components in the front and just a nice pair of nonsomponent polks in the rear. If i went component in the front (with component i understand everything is seperate) would i mount the speakers in the door, the tweeters in the dash, and have to run new wires? Or can i use the existing wires for the speakers and, can the tweeters go in the dash? Also do components need to be amped? And if i just went with 4 nice speakers could i use the existing wires? Few Thanks
Michael

Old 05-04-2008, 09:13 PM
BF Veteran
mdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant futuremdehoogh has a brilliant future
Default RE: Audio Noob

I dont have much experience with component speakers but I dont believe they HAVE to be amped. However, after I installed a 4channel amp for all my coax door speakers (still using existing wires) it sounds MUCH better.

Old 05-04-2008, 09:40 PM
BF Veteran
blazinloud is an unknown quantity at this point

Not true, comps do not have to be amped.....