Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Recommend a New CD Player!

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2007, 09:02 AM
Benado is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Recommend a New CD Player!

I have a '97 Olds Bravada and I'm pretty sure the stock cd player does not work properly. I'm only getting sound out of one speaker. Anyway, my inentions are to put in a whole new system. I want to start with a cd player, then move on to replacing the speakers. Since I'm new at this, any advice or recomendations would be greatly appreciated. I would like to spend less than $150 (I'm not looking for heart pounding bass, just a nice, clear sound) on the cd player. It doesn't have to be XM or Serious-ready and I don't need it to adapt to my Ipod. It just needs to play AM and FM radio and cd's. Any suggestions?

Also, if you're bored, you can make some suggestions as to speakers. I have an amp (it's a few years old and I don't know the specifics off the top of my head) that I would like to use to power at least two of the door speakers, but if I can make it do all four door speakers that would be ideal. Then, I'd just let the head unit power the dashboard tweeters.

One last thing, any tips on removal of the old equipment and installation of the new would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Old 05-04-2007, 09:27 AM
Administrator
hillbillyinOhio has disabled reputation
Default RE: Recommend a New CD Player!

you will need a few parts. these are all metra part numbers 70-1858 (wiring) 40GM-10 (antenna adaptor) and a dash kit 99-3043, 99-3044. The kit i like the best is a scosche one GM1515

Look on crutchfield.com at Pioneer, JVC, Alpine. if you order fom them, you will get the parts for free i think.