Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Sound Tech Newbie here!

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 09:17 PM
zombiepkx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sound Tech Newbie here!

So, I came across [what used to be a 2001$] stereo system I got for free, through a chain of events.

It came with 4 Oval speakers (Dimensions unknown, seems to be about 7x4")

2 Small round tweeters, about 2x2".

2 Amps, not sure on the power in/out, I think one is 4x80, and the other 2x120 or something goofy like that.

1 Subwoofer, (Truck Sub) 1x15" speaker,

And all the cabling.
I know all about the hooking up the remote amp wire, the RCA wires, and all that jazz, I have the power cable going to the hood, and the big ol' fuse out of the cable, but I was wondering,
Where should I go from here?

I was told you're to take off the ground wire from the battery no matter what, hook up the amp cable to the red diode, hook it up to the amp, and then ground it.

Any help on hooking this son of a gun up?
Also,

I was wondering if there's a nice spot to run the cable besides under the driver-side trim, and if there's a nice spot to put the cabling from the back of my head unit through my truck, so that it's almost unseen,

I am willing to expirement with taking the carpeting off if needed

Thanks in advance!

Old 04-22-2007, 10:27 PM
Starting Member
viper4559 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Sound Tech Newbie here!

One thing that is a law is you always hook grounds up first, and take them off last.

Old 04-22-2007, 10:37 PM
hockeykid15 is an unknown quantity at this point