Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Speaker Recommendation

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2018, 10:45 AM
Starting Member
LuckyAce is on a distinguished road
Default Speaker Recommendation

Well, I'm down to just the one speaker on the passenger door, so I think it is time for me to get a new set. What is good, but won't cost an arm and a leg? Considering just going to a salvage yard and grabbing some on the cheap. If I do this is there a way to test them at the yard?

Rockauto seems to only have AC Delco and they are $50 each... I'm a college student, I can't justify spending $200 for car audio.

Any brands to stay away from? Any real good ones that are affordable? What should I look for in a new set?

Found these at best buy, would they work if I bought 2 sets?

Last edited by LuckyAce; 02-25-2018 at 10:57 AM.
Old 02-25-2018, 03:10 PM
Super Moderator
rexmburns has a spectacular aura aboutrexmburns has a spectacular aura aboutrexmburns has a spectacular aura about

Just find some cheap speakers online if you are only looking to put sound back in. Something in the lower watt/rms scale is going to perform better for you if your running it off the factory headunit. Using speakers from a junk yard won't save you much over just buying online or even something from say Walmart especially if you consider your time in the equation.

Front Door: 6-3/4"
Dash: 4" x 6"
Back door: 6-3/4"

Old 02-25-2018, 03:42 PM
Starting Member
LuckyAce is on a distinguished road

What range should I shoot for in RMS and Watts? I still have the factory radio. I'd like to get something similar or maybe slightly better than the stock set up.

Something below 'X' what's X?

Old 03-06-2018, 04:46 PM
Beginning Member
Rhettsterhhhh is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by LuckyAce