Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Speakers Blew Out

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2011, 09:58 PM
EricR is on a distinguished road
Default Speakers Blew Out

So the speakers in my rear doors blew. I'm looking to replace them and I'm thinking of going with Sony Xplod just because they are decent and are for a good price. I'm not looking to upgrade or anything just want to get something in there. Is there anything I need to be worried about in regards to wattage, ohms, stuff like that? I'm new to working with sound systems in cars.

Old 12-28-2011, 11:05 PM
Defiant is on a distinguished road

I believe that the stock speakers that come in the Blazers rear are run at 8ohm, most aftermarket speakers that you can pick up will runn at 4ohm. Im not sure if this will create problems with the stock head unit, if you have an aftermarket one then you shouldn't worry about it because most should be 4ohm stable.

Old 12-29-2011, 07:37 AM

Yeah I read something on some forum about that but I couldn't understand it because to be honest I don't even know what it means. The speakers I was looking at where 4 Ohm, I couldn't even find any online that where 8. I guess if something happens I'll be on my way to the junk yard for parts.

Old 12-30-2011, 12:50 AM