Audio/Video Electronics Wired up? If you have some sort of A/V modification let's hear about it here. Discussion of stock electrical problems should be done in the 'Lighting & Electrical' section.

Sub Positioning Conundrum

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2010, 05:14 PM
Beginning Member
jonnycakes is on a distinguished road
Question Sub Positioning Conundrum

I'm new to this so forgive me if I sound rediculous.

I've recently purchased 2 - 10" JL Audio 10w1v2-4 subs and a Rockford Fosgate R500-1 amp. The subs are currently residing in a dual 10" sealed box. I went with the 2 - 10's based on a love of hard rock, metal, and hardcore music (demanding a quick response from my subs).

Due to the lovely New England weather I haven't had a chance to install yet and yes it's killing me.

My DD is a 2001 Blazer LT 4 Door 4x4. What is the best positioning and location for a sub box in the trunk to give the optimal bass from the drivers seat??

I'm assuming rear firing to bounce the sound off the tailgate and rear glass.
What distance from the tailgate in the trunk is the best place to put the front of the sub? I'm thinking with the back of the sub box flush up against the back seats.

With that setup in mind what about loading in cargo between the sub and the tailgate... in that situation should I than flip the sub around to face front?

I basically don't want to blow up the milk on the way back from the grocery store (or anything I may transport in my trunk...).

I really don't want to sacrifice the functionality of a Blazer for great subwoofer bass and vice versa.

What do you think the happy medium for location is?

Old 03-11-2010, 05:47 PM
Starting Member
86Blazer4x4 is an unknown quantity at this point

i would have to say once you turn those subs around that you will loose alot of bass. i had two tens in my 86 and i did that and i lost alot of bass.

Old 03-11-2010, 06:01 PM
99blaz is on a distinguished road