Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Another engine swap question...

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2006, 03:48 AM
mortalum620 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Another engine swap question...

As many of you may know i am planning to swap my 4.3L for a 350 small block...

heres where the mind jarring comes in...

What car/truck should i pull this engine out of and will my stock tranny be able to take it. Should i take the tranny out of w/e car i get the engine out of...im new to the game, but im comin up on crunch time and need as much advice as possible.

Old 08-15-2006, 09:59 AM
Starting Member
lunatic_magnet is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Another engine swap question...

i dont remember if tie 4.3 and 350 share the same bolt pattern or not...

whats your goal, just to put a 350 in it? looking for horespower or just daily driver? carbed or fuel injected? i'm assuming you want an auto, are you looking for overdrive?

if it were me i'd pull the old engine and trans out and put in whatever 350 i found, carb it, and back it up with a 700r4 (overdrive) transmission out of a camaro/firebird. the camaro trannies are simple and readily available since most people are more interested in putting a stick in the camaros. i think i have 2 or 3 kicking around here.

Old 08-15-2006, 10:01 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute