Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Heater core?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2006, 08:22 AM
juscarter is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Heater core?

So my windows(internal) won't stop fogging up every two minutes. I'm talking rediculously! I haven't noticed a wet passenger floor board, but i smell something a little funny(sometimes) when i turn on the heat. It sounds like a heater core problem to me, but im no expert by any means. So my question is this....

CAN THIS CAUSE FURTHER ENGINE/ANY PROBLEMS OTHER THAN THE ONES I HAVE LISTED HERE? COULD A BAD A/C CAUSE IT TO GO OUT/VICE VERSA, CAUSE THAT DOESN'T WORK EITHER.

I CAN'T FIX IT MYSELF, SO IF IT IS WHAT I THINK IT IS, ANYONE GOT AN IDEA OF ROUGHLY WHAT THIS WOULD COST TO GET FIXED?

Any ideas you got would be greatly appreciated.[]

Old 12-24-2006, 01:12 PM
BF Veteran
blazinloud is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Heater core?

sorry to say but it definatly sounds like a heater core. Same thing happend to me on the highway going to work last summer. It's white fog that has to be wiped away with your hand......If your running dexcool (red stuff) it smells like rotten fish, very noticable. The green stuff is a little harder to explain........

I think my bill came up to like 850, thats for the whole schebang, delco core. But he's a friend of my dads so he charged me, i think $700 cash, canadian. I would get it fixed asap.

BUT! if you live in a warm climate and dont need heat, you can re-rout the system bypassing the core untill you can save cash and whatnot.....at least people have told me that.......I just got the replacement a few days later.

Old 12-24-2006, 10:49 PM