Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

is my fuel pump ready to flatline or my alternator..

  #1  
Old 12-02-2012, 09:19 AM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Windham Connecticut
Posts: 25
jbro319 is on a distinguished road
Default is my fuel pump ready to flatline or my alternator..

Not sure which one is checking out I have a 98 blazer and the other day my gas was kinda low and my gauge was all of sudden jumping all over from empty to full I stopped put some in and it seemed to pan out yet seems to not be accurate. I also noticed my lights seemed to dim a little and the back to normal while driving.I work 2nd shift and 45 min away It would suck sooo bad to break down @ 1am so I need to prevent any problems before they get to this.
 
  #2  
Old 12-02-2012, 09:22 AM
chris015's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,748
chris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura about
Default

1. never let your tank drop below a quarter if possible.
2. lights dimming? Eh make sure you have clean terminals and stop by a auto chain and have them test it for free.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-2012, 09:32 AM
Super Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,024
50lb_cat will become famous soon enough
Default

The gauge jumping is pretty normal and not exactly a sign you pump is about to die. The sender gets corroded and causes it to not read correctly. For the lights, refer to previous post. It could also be the belt isn't tight enough.
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-2012, 09:55 AM
rriddle3's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Texas
Posts: 6,423
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally Posted by 50lb_cat View Post
The gauge jumping is pretty normal and not exactly a sign you pump is about to die. The sender gets corroded and causes it to not read correctly...
To help prevent this, periodically run a bottle of Techron Concentrate Plus through the tank. It helps remove the sulfur compounds that corrode the connections.
 
  #5  
Old 12-02-2012, 10:48 AM
rockp2's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 897
rockp2 is on a distinguished road
Default

I've had 3 Blazers...still have two of them. On the one I got rid of (94) and one of the ones I still have (97) the fuel guage is not working any longer. On both I experienced the gauge jumping around also for a short time until they just went.

rriddle3, when you say periodically, do you have a set number of fill-ups or something you use to determine when it's time for a bottle Techron Concentrate?
 
  #6  
Old 12-02-2012, 12:18 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Windham Connecticut
Posts: 25
jbro319 is on a distinguished road
Default 98 blazer

I heard alot about how good that Techron concentrate works not sure how many gallons my tank holds or wether I use a 12 or 20oz bottle to a full tank.
 
  #7  
Old 12-02-2012, 12:27 PM
Super Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,024
50lb_cat will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm pretty sure I read here to use a double dose of the 20oz the first time and then just one 20oz at every oil change.
 
  #8  
Old 12-02-2012, 01:07 PM
rriddle3's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth,Texas
Posts: 6,423
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Originally Posted by rockp2 View Post
...rriddle3, when you say periodically, do you have a set number of fill-ups or something you use to determine when it's time for a bottle Techron Concentrate?
Whenever I think about it or it's on sale. I'm lazy and cheap.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
BouncingRadical
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
14
11-27-2015 12:30 AM
rednekk
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
1
05-07-2012 10:29 AM
blkblazer
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
3
03-30-2009 01:18 PM
azc4
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
7
12-18-2007 07:13 PM
mytruck2
2nd Gen S-series (1995-2005) Tech
11
12-13-2006 04:50 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: is my fuel pump ready to flatline or my alternator..


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.