Engine & Internal Chat about beefing up your Blazer's engine insides here.

Worth the swap??

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2006, 01:49 AM
ridin_low07 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Worth the swap??

I have an 88 4x4 with a 2.8 litre i think. Would it be worth droppin a small block 350 in it in order to reach a goal of 275 horses? The guy who im buying the 350 from has had it polished and ported and he wants a grand for it. He had it in a 98 Tahoe that was runnin a 11.74@112mph. If i dropped it in my 88 wouldn't it give it a big boost?

Old 06-25-2006, 07:17 PM
Blazin_Jason will become famous soon enough
Default RE: Worth the swap??

Here
Here
Here
& Here

This site sucks for information about doing swaps. Some places to start. I'm in the process of doing a sbc swap. If you do have a 2.8 then you have more work involved than a 4.3. Will need a new tranny/rad/special oil pan/exhaust. I'm still learning as I go what to do. Also pick up a book about swaps. I"m borrowing a JTR (jags that run) manual and reading that.

Old 06-25-2006, 07:34 PM
cherryred4x4 is an unknown quantity at this point

"This site sucks for information about doing swaps."
V8 swaps aren't talked about much on here because they aren't as common in Blazers as S10's, most Blazer owners don't care about/need a V8. There are people here that know about V8 swaps, its just not posted all over the place, we also have a LOT less members than S10forum, this is much newer.