Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

00 blazer engine removal

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2012, 12:26 AM
wide'n'low is on a distinguished road
Default 00 blazer engine removal

so my wifes 00 blazer 4x4 i got her last year, died a month ago. coolant mixed into the oil and overheating issues killed it (bad water pump/gaskets). i got it for $700 knowing the engine could die. no big deal. i got a replacement 4.3 with 116k miles, 180psi on every cylinder for $770 on monday. im now ready to swap it out.

im new to 4wd suvs, and noticed the tranny and transfer case are almost as long as the suv and weigh a ton! and i only have a 2 ton hoist. i dont want to pull the tranny and transfer case for these reasons. are there any tips or tricks for getting the engine out while leaving the tranny and transfer case in?

ive got some of the bellhousing bolts removed from the bottom of the engine but i cant reach the top ones. i thought about removing the trans mount/frame member that goes across, unhooking the drive shaft, and disconnecting the motor mounts. to drop the motor down and a inch or 2 foward. anyone think this might work?
also i dont want to drop the front diff if i dont have to.

Old 04-12-2012, 07:58 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

To get to the top bolts on the bell housing typically the transmission mount is removed & a lot of extensions are used along with a universal joint socket.

You'll need to remove the starter to get at the torque converter bolts, rotating the engine to access each of them.