Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

60k Mile Blazer With Rod Knock

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2020, 09:08 PM
Beginning Member
Xander12 is on a distinguished road
Default 60k Mile Blazer With Rod Knock

Hey guys, I have a 60k mile 4x4 1998 blazer. A few weeks ago i took it into a shop to do the intake manifold. After the mechanic did it, he called me and told me the engine now has rod knock. Went to look at it and sure enough it has rod knock.

What should I do? I have about 2000 saved up (im a broke college student). Right now, Ive managed to find transportation so Im not in a huge rush. Engine replacement guy is quoting me at around 1000 dollars not including the used engine. I have a friend that thinks he could do it for me. Is it worth finding a used engine somewhere with only 60k miles on this thing? Or should i sell it for scrap and try to save for something else? Thanks guys! Im at a loss here.

Old 02-04-2020, 11:18 PM
BF Veteran
christine_208 will become famous soon enoughchristine_208 will become famous soon enough

I'd be suspicious of the mechanic that would do work and then tell you something else is broken.

First off, get a second opinion just to be sure.

60k miles is low. The parts for which that mileage would matter include the engine, transmission, front and rear axles, fuel pump. But of course the engine is now no longer on that list. There is also that at low miles there is likely much less corrosion (if you live in the rust-belt). It would be a good project vehicle for someone who'd want to swap the engine. If you are paying someone to work on it, then that can cost a lot. Keep in mind that at over 20 years old, you still have all of the other things that wear out and have to be serviced; brakes, cooling system, battery, etc.