Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Blazer will not start, I'm at a loss!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 06:51 PM
Starting Member
monkey36 is on a distinguished road
Angry Blazer will not start, I'm at a loss!!!

My 2000 Blazer was fine until I let it sit for one month. Now it wont start! The fuel gauge always bounced around and I was told this may be a hint that the fuel pump is going. I put extra gas in it, made no difference. So I pulled a plug and there is plenty of spark, I tried starting fluid but I still can't get it to fire. I can hear the pump running but have read that may make no difference, it could still be bad. After reading quite a few posts on here, I decided to buy a new ignition coil, to no prevail however.
The plug wires are relatively new along with dist etc...
I am no master mechanic however have donated a pound of flesh to the back yard mechanic gods, and I'm stumped!!! I am not getting any check engine lights and whatnot. As a side note, the month that it was sitting the battery was dead, I'm not sure if I need to reset something?
So if there is anyone that may be able to point me in the right direction I would be forever grateful!

Old 09-13-2011, 07:01 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute

You have verified spark, but the statement that it will not run even on starting fluid leads me to believe that either the spark is not properly timed, there is an overly rich condition, or a compression problem any of which might be preventing proper combustion.

Old 09-13-2011, 07:11 PM