Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Blazer Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2008, 10:53 AM
jpmccr is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Blazer Won't Start

2001 Blazer LT 4X4, 120,740 miles. I have replaced the alternator, fuel filter, and battery. It will turn over but it just will not “catch”. Any ideas?? I am a basic mechanic so I can do some things. Should I be looking at the distributor cap, rotor, wires, plugs?? Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 08-04-2008, 11:06 AM
FFJustin99Chevy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Blazer Won't Start

Fuel pump?

Old 08-04-2008, 12:06 PM
raylo is an unknown quantity at this point

Almost surely fuel pump or fuel pressure regulator. Check fuel pressure at the rail.... needs to be ~60. Wouldn't hurt to check for spark to be sure.....

Old 08-04-2008, 04:26 PM

First thanks for the information, guys. Now for the strange thing. It sat since Friday morning when this all started. It didn’t start. We took off for the weekend in my wife’s car and came back Sunday. Tried again. No luck. Got up this morning and again it wouldn’t start. Then I got thinking did I hear the fuel pump “whine up” as I call it. Well I tried it and sure enough it was, which to me meant at least the pump was doing something. I did it twice. Then just for grins and giggles, I tried to start it. It fired right up!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Have no idea unless my fuel filter was clogged and I broke something loose. So this weekend I am going to replace the fuel filter and run a fuel treatment/injector cleaner through the system. What do you think?? I will keep you guys posted. Again, thanks.

Old 08-04-2008, 06:55 PM