Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Car Won't Start... easy solution?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2010, 02:33 AM
Faithfulxtreme is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Car Won't Start... easy solution?

Okay, so I have a Blazer Xtreme 2001 and it won't start... I've had it for 4 years and am embarrassed to say I've abused it... It's my first car and I love it, but I've missed a lot of routine maintenance on it... anyways here's the problem:

The car won't start... I guess blazers (and maybe all cars) have a safety feature when you go below one quarter oil, it doesn't start up to prevent you from blowing your engine... well, now I have oil in it, I hope to God my battery's not blown...I'm a total noob, so how do I check the battery to make sure I don't have to buy a new one? (expensive!) and is there anything else that could be the problem? Could I check this myself or do I need to take it into the shop?

I'm all about figuring out how to fix everything about my car myself... haha! Alright guys, troubleshoot with a noob (at cars in general :S), just joined the forum too, thought it was really cool there was a forum for blazers!!! XD

I have no form of transportation, and I have to get this thing running, so any help would be appreciated...

Thanks,

FaithfulXtreme

Old 10-02-2010, 03:25 AM
foxxie is on a distinguished road

Just need a bit more info, does the the dash lights come on when you turn the key on? if yes does the engin turn over? if it's a dud battery you wont have any lights come up on the dash. Also check your battery connections to make sure they are not lose on battery terminals.

Old 10-02-2010, 02:38 PM

Yeah, dash lights come on and the engine turns over...I'm checking the battery terminal connections before I post this and....
---------------------------------------------------------------